Thursday, April 5, 2012

Lacuna Coil...

Lacuna Coil..
"Trip The Darkness
Video of the day

"Trip the Darkness" is a song by Italian recording band Lacuna Coil, from their sixth studio album Dark Adrenaline (2012). The song was written by Lacuna Coil, while production of the song was handled by Don Gilmore. The song was given its first play on Sirius XM on September 19, 2011, and was released as the first single from the album on October 17, 2011, in Europe and on October 18, 2011, in the United States. "Trip the Darkness" was met with a positive reception from the fans, who praised the return of the band to the original dark sound. This single has been remixed for the soundtrack to Underworld: Awakening.


The dark drawn cover artwork for the single shows a little girl was designed by the bassist of the band Marco Coti Zelati, he did the illustration of the cover for the single which underlines how personal the song is to the band.

Critical reception

"Trip the Darkness" has received a largely positive reception from critics and fans alike upon release. Liz Ramanand from Loudwire gave the song 4 stars out of 5 and called the song a "dark yet very poetic track" whilst praising it for being "almost like an Edgar Alan Poe poem put to music". Kaj Nocturnal from theblackflag gave the song 10 stars out of 10, saying that "it's unlike anything ever released by the band" and concluded "this is the best work they have ever done".

Chart performance

In the United States, "Trip the Darkness" debuted on the US Active rock chart in top 40 on November 9, 2011 but peaking at #23 on February 11, 2012. On December 9 "Trip the Darkness" won in the "metal/hard rock" category on iTunes Italy. "Trip The Darkness" is number 2 in's Top Rock Songs of 2011. It also debuted at #28 on the US Mainstream Rock Tracks chart on February 4, 2012.

Fun Facts

Which song are these lines from?: "Blood into my hands I can't deny / A buzz into my ears that makes me mad"?
When A Dead Man Walks. "When A Dead Man Walks" appears on the album "Unleashed Memories" (2001). This album also contains the band's only all-Italian song, "Senzafine".

Which track contains the following lines? "There's a place to be afraid / There's another chain to hold and you don't know."
Humane. This song appears on "Comalies" (2002). This is one of my favorite songs on the whole album! 

"These stone tears are falling down on me, all my regrets!" Name the song.
Circle. This song appears on "In A Reverie" (1999). Before changing their name to Lacuna Coil, the band was Sleep Of Right, and then Ethereal.

Name the track: "Another night gone and I know there will be another way / I'm leading myself to be free in this eternal goodbye".
Within Me. This song appears on "Karmacode" (2006). Another song on the album, "Our Truth", had the working title "Antonio".

Which song is the following line taken from? "Walking through a life decayed while you're repeating your mistakes..."
Daylight Dancer. This song appears on "Comalies" (2002). Lacuna Coil is made up of six members: Cristina Scabbia (vocals), Andrea Ferro (vocals), Cristiano Migliore (guitar), Marco Biazzi (guitar), Marco Coti Zelati (bass, keyboards) and Cristiano Mozzati (drums, percussion).

Which song is this? "Feeling the slow beat turning fast / No longer breathing..."
Wave Of Anguish. This song appears on "Unleashed Memories" (2001). The band released a live DVD in 2008 called "Visual Karma (Body, Mind and Soul)".

Which track contains these lines? "Some days I cry alone, but I know I'm not the only one."
Falling Again. This song appears on "In A Reverie" (1999). This song was originally on their self-titled debut album from 1998 as "Falling". The version on "In A Reverie" has a few lines changed from the previous version.

"En-lighting lies with my shame / Beneath the veil of your flow..." Which song is it?
Tight Rope. This song appears on "Comalies" (2002). "Un Fantasma Tra Noi (A Ghost Between Us)" was actually an instrumental which appeared on the band's debut album "Lacuna Coil" (1998).

Name the song! "Dolefully desired / Destiny of a lie."
Heaven's A Lie. This song appears on "Comalies" (2002). It was the first release from the album, and is frequently interpreted as anti-religious. However, Cristina Scabbia has stated in an interview with the "Highwire Daze" zine that "the heavens we're talking about is that sometimes people want you to have the same opinions they have."

From which song are the following lines? "Wounds are bleeding in my hands, turning blind / No one will ever stop this self-made decline."
Fragile. This song appears on "Karmacode" (2006). This album contained a cover of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence".

No comments:

Post a Comment